Dairy or no dairy: The various degrees of vegetarianism

Vegetarian diets vary in what foods they include and exclude. Here's an explanation of the differences:

  • Vegan: Excludes meat, poultry, fish, eggs and dairy products and foods that contain these products.
  • Lacto-vegetarian: Excludes meat, fish, poultry, eggs and foods that contain them. Dairy products, such as milk, cheese, yogurt and butter, are included.
  • Lacto-ovo vegetarian: Excludes meat, fish and poultry, but allows dairy products and eggs.
  • Ovo-vegetarian: Excludes meat, poultry, seafood and dairy products, but allows eggs.
  • Flexitarian: Also called semi-vegetarian, this diet is primarily a plant-based diet but includes meat, diary, eggs, poultry and fish on occasion or in small quantities.